In practice…

It may seem quite unreal when I say this but Respublica Consulting was exactly the way I had imagined it. The spacious working environment, limited but well synchronized, friendly staff, high connectivity and a good rapport with clients and other organizations. After this I met my boss, Saji Varghese with whom I had a little chat about what my expectations as a PR intern were and what I would like to achieve over the one-month period. He advised me on certain areas I could focus on that could be relevant for my report and internship experience.

Media monitoring and coverage tracking are some of the routine tasks that are done on a daily basis here. Every morning a staff goes through the newspapers and collects news about clients. Respublica is connected with companies such as BMW and also analyze their current position with their consumers, media and other publics.

Another team member, Joy, makes cuttings of news clips related to Respublica’s clients from all the national and regional dailies. This is sent to corporate clients and network clients that ResPublica works with. They also showed me how translations from the regional language to English are done before the press coverage is sent.

I was slowly learning the ropes and telling myself to wait and watch.

– Sruthi

Leave a Reply

