Life as an Intern at ResPublica: Day 1

Image

As a final year Public Relations student of Curtin University Sarawak Malaysia, it is mandatory for me to do an internship to complete my Bachelors degree. When I got my CV accepted at Respublica Consulting I was excited and thrilled! It was going to be my first experience in the professional world and I had already constructed expectations and imaginations on how this working experience would be. There was no lag or delay in terms of contacting them and vice versa. Everything moved smooth and fast! I was extremely ecstatic about the fact that I was finally going to put my Public Relations textbook theories and lecture slides into practise and deal with Public Relations in the real world.

I was welcomed into the office by Ann Mary who works as an Account Manager. She was also the person who I was contacting since the initial days of getting in touch with this consultancy. Ann was quite friendly and this put me at ease. She spoke about the working environment here and told me to be casual and free. She gave me a sense of confidence and I experienced a huge relief. Unlike other PR consultancies or agencies there is no strict dress code or uniforms. Just like the environment here, the key to attire is to keep it casual and modest.

And so, my first day went well, all my nervousness had been cast aside and I couldn’t wait to see what was in store for me during the rest of my time here.

– Sruthi

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

